5 Tory MPs in Surrey who say they are standing down

Surrey’s Tory MPs exiting the County


Kwasi Kwarteng the Conservative MP for Spelthorne has just joined four other of his Party’s Surrey colleagues in announcing he will not stand at the upcoming General Election. Surrey has 11 constituencies and all are held by Conservatives.

With Paul Beresford MP for Mole Valley, Dominic Raab MP for Esher and Walton, Crispin Blunt MP for Reigate and Banstead and our own Chris Grayling MP for Epsom and Ewell, all having confirmed they are not going to run, this leaves 6 Surrey Conservative MPs still standing.

One can expect Michael Gove MP for Surrey Heath and Jeremy Hunt MP for South-West Surrey, who serve in the Cabinet, to seek re-election. Leaving Jonathan Lord MP for Woking, Ben Spencer MP for Runnymede and Weybridge, Angela Richardson MP for Guildford and Claire Coutinho MP for East Surrey assumed to be still up for the fight.

Epsom and Ewell Conservatives have already put in place their new prospective Parliamentary Candidate, Mhairi Fraser, an anti-corruption lawyer.

She will be challenged by Helen Maguire of the Liberal Democrats, Gina Miller of the True and Fair Party and Steve Mckenna of the Green Party. Labour has yet to select its Prospective Parliamentary Candidate.

Related Reports:

Conservatives adopt new contender for Parliament

Grayling not to contest a seventh election

Esher & Walton up for GRaabs

Surrey’s longest sitting MP to stand-down

© 2021-2022. No content may be copied without the permission of Epsom and Ewell Times Ltd.